AMON AMARTH: Surtur Rising Album Art + Track Listing Revealed


Sweden's AMON AMARTH are currently gearing up to unleash, Surtur Rising, the eighth studio offering in their critically revered pantheon of Viking-inspired death metal.

Named in tribute to Surtur, leader of the fire giants of Muspelheim (“flame land”) and the oldest being in the nine worlds of Norse mythology, the record, which was listed among Decibel Magazine's most anticipated albums of 2011, features 10 tracks of sword-wielding, fist-pumping, hyper climactic battle anthems. The followup to 2008's monolithic Twilight Of The Thunder God full-length, was recorded, mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studios (Örebro, Sweden) with Jens Bogren and features strikingly brutal cover art by Tom Thiel. (Which can be seen above)

"Surtur Rising" Track Listing:
  1. War of the Gods"
  2. Töck's Taunt - Loke's Treachery Part II
  3. Destroyer of the Universe
  4. Slaves of Fear
  5. Live Without Regrets
  6. The Last Stand of Frej
  7. For Victory or Death
  8. Wrath of the Norsemen
  9. A Beast Am I
  10. Doom Over Dead Man

As an unofficial kick off to its release, AMON AMARTH will make a live appearance on the long anticipated 70000 Tons Of Metal cruise, scheduled to take place from January 24th - 28th. The voyage will begin in Miami, Florida, make its way to Cozumel, Mexico and play host to 40 bands including Voivod, Sodom, Iced Earth, Fear Factory and Obituary. For more info, visit:

Surtur Rising will be released in North America on March 29, 2011 via Metal Blade Records.

Visit AMON AMARTH on: Official Site | Myspace | Facebook | Twitter

Leave a comment