NOISECREEP Hosting Exclusive Premiere of ASSASSIN's New Track "I LIKE COLA"

Noisecreep is currently streaming a new track from ASSASSIN's latest release"Breaking the Silence". The album is scheduled to be released on April 5, 2011 via SPV/Steamhammer. Check out ASSASSIN's version of the song "I Like Cola" at

GO! FIGHT! KILL! No sound truly defines Thrash Metal more than ASSASSIN. A hybrid of Speed Thrash Metal and Hardcore splashed with a sense of humor, it grabs you by the throat and kicks your ass. Although a band photo predates the official band formation, ASSASSIN was officially formed in 1984 with the original lineup of, Robert Gonnella (vocals), Dinko Vekic (lead guitar), Scholli (rhythm guitar), Lulle (bass) and Psycho (drums).

Dubbed the Holy Terror era, their first demo sold approximately 500 copies; a great feat considering there was no internet music sharing. A short time later, the "Nemesis" demo was released in 1986 and ASSASSIN was signed to SPV. "The Upcoming Terror" album was released and sold approximately 15,000 copies. After some time off, the band regrouped with new members Michael Hoffmann (guitar) and Frank Nellen (drums).

They released their second album, "Interstellar Experience" in 1988 and quickly rose through the ranks as one of Germanys top 5 thrash bands. The band supported Death Angel on their first official tour in 1988, nearly all shows were sold out. While working on their third album, all their equipment was stolen and ASSASSIN, having no funds to reinvest in equipment, lost their will to continue and broke up shortly thereafter.

Fast forward to 2002! After numerous chants of GO, FIGHT, KILL from the worldwide Thrash Metal community, the band regroups and the official ASSASSIN reunion is announced. This new lineup was Robert (vocals), Dinko (lead guitar), Scholli (rhythm guitar), Achim (bass) and Atomic Steiff (drums). A new 5 track demo was recorded and played live at Wacken 2003 to the positive reviews of many critics. "It's incredible how quick the underground spreads the information," explains Rudy Schmitz, ASSASSIN's manager. Suddenly, radio stations are playing ASSASSIN again in their rotations and the rabid fans want more and they want ASSASSIN live. "Shows are booked and appetites are fed. We made some shows and it was like coming home", says singer Robert Gonnella.

With Dinko gone most of 2005, it was decided that another guitarist would step in to fill the void and also support Dinko. Back from a 6 year long extended trip to Brazil, Michael, formerly on Sodom's Better Off Dead and an ASSASSIN veteran, having recorded on Interstellar Experience, was ready to jump in as a third guitarist. Atomic and Dinko left the band and Frank once again was back on skins. In early 2005 their 3rd album "The Club" was self-produced and self-released. In 2009, the drummer Frank Nellen left the band for personal reasons and was replaced by the Wicked Kemao drummer Björn Sondermann. At the same time the problem of the occupation on bass was dissolved with the joining of Joachim Kremer. In spring 2010, ASSASSIN played some shows in Asia where the concerts in Japan were professionally recorded with the plan to release a future DVD.

In autumn 2010 the band signed again a record deal with the german label SPV/Steamhammer and recorded their new album with producer Harris Johns ( Voivod,Kreator, Sodom). The new album "Breaking The Silence" will be released worldwide in March 2011 and ASSASSIN are back again kicking asses!!!


01. Breaking The Silence

02. Raise In The Dark

03. Judas

04. Turf War

05. Destroy The State

06. No Fear

07. Kill Or Be Killed

08. Real Friends

09. Strike Back

10. I Like Cola

Visit ASSASSIN and SPV on the web:

Leave a comment