BORKNAGAR Announces New Drummer; “Urd” Now Available for Pre-order


In the wake of the release of their upcoming album, Urd , on March 26th in Europe and in North America, Norwegian avant-garde metallers BORKNAGAR have announced a new drummer for the band's line-up. The exceptionally talented youngster Baard Kolstad is now joining BORKNAGAR as their drummer, and he will perform his first show together with the band at this year's Inferno Festival during April 4th-7th in Oslo, Norway ( Kolstad's extreme drum abilities have been proven through several YouTube clips, TV-appearances in Norway-- and just recently, he won the world championship in V- Drums in Los Angeles.

In regards to Kolstad joining the band, BORKNAGAR's mastermind Øystein G. Brun comments: "First and foremost I would like to welcome Baard into the fold, may our journey ahead become a joy able ride. We are all very excited about Baard teaming up with the band. He has proven to be an immensely talented drummer with skills and a technique that is simply breathtaking. Our first encounter was late last year when he stepped in and recorded drums for ICS VORTEX's cover version of METALLICA's song 'Don't Tread On Me'. Since then we have kept an eye on him. When we spilt with David Kinkade a bit later on, the road ahead was obvious. We are all very much looking forward to pull off the very first gigs..."

Kolstad adds : "I'm really happy for this opportunity and the fact that I have earned the respect to play with BORKNAGAR. Really looking forward to the musical adventure that the future holds and will do my best to deal with the challenge in the most respectful and creative way. Now, I just want to play!"

"Roots", BORKNAGAR's first single off their much anticipated new studio album, Urd, can be heard here on The album's artwork was designed by Brazilian artist Marcelo Vasco (, who has not only already worked on the band's previous Universal release, but also with artists such as SOULFLY, BELPHEGOR, EINHERJER, and KEEP OF KALESSIN. Jens Bogren handled mixing duties for Urd at Sweden's Fascination Street Studios (OPETH, PARADISE LOST, KATATONIA), and the track-listing for the album is below.

BORKNAGAR Urd track-listing:
1. Epochalypse
2. Roots
3. The Beauty Of Dead Cities
4. The Earthling
5. The Plains Of Memories
6. Mount Regency
7. Frostrite
8. The Winter Eclipse
9. In A Deeper World

Urd can be now pre-ordered at CM Distro here in a few different formats, including as a bundle with the CD and an exclusive shirt, so reserve your copy now!

BORKNAGAR Line-Up 2012:
Øystein G. Brun - clean & electric guitars (CRONIAN, ex-MOLESTED)
ICS Vortex - bass, clean vocals & choirs (ARCTURUS, ICS VORTEX, ex-DIMMU BORGIR)
Vintersorg - grim vocals, clean vocals & choirs (VINTERSORG, FISSION)
Jens F. Ryland - lead guitars (ICS VORTEX)
Lars A. Nedland - keys, clean vocals & choirs (SOLEFALD, ex-CARPATHIAN FOREST)
Baard Kolstad - drums
*Drums and percussion on Urd were performed by David Kinkade (SOULFLY, ex-MALEVOLENT CREATION).

More details and information about the album's release will be issued soon, so stay tuned!

Leave a comment